Miles Sound System

The Miles Sound System

Miles Sound System 是已发布的最流行的中间件之一。它已经被授权给 超过 5,000 款游戏 在14个不同的平台!

John Miles 在1991年一开始发布了MSS,那是PC游戏刚开始兴起的时候。 今天,Miles提供了一个不妥协的工具集,它整合了2D和3D数字音频的高级音频创作,流支持,环境混响,多级DSP过滤,和多声道混合等,以及高度优化后的音频解码(MP3, Ogg and Bink Audio).

New! Miles 9!

Miles 9, 具有所有新的高级音频工具,正在发行!

对您的游戏而言,Miles是最老练,最稳健,功能最强的音频系统。包括您的程序员和您的音效师都会爱上Miles。

Game Developer Magazine 将 Miles Sound System收录进它的 Front Line Hall of Fame the very first year - 授予了有史以来的第一个中间件 的荣誉。几年以后,John Miles 和 Jeff Roberts 已经设计和升华了Miles API,让它成为您的 游戏音效所需的最好的解决方案。

您应该看看 我们的客户是如何考虑的, 或者您能够阅读 the Miles SDK 。最后,您能够查阅 Miles 版本历史 ,如果您在寻找一些特定的内容。

下来我们简要说说Miles精彩特性的一些内容,但请记住,学习Miles的最快速的方法是 给我们发邮件 ,并开始评估!

Why Miles is right for your game:

  • Miles 9 现在已经有一套完全重新设计的高级音频工具!围绕迭代和音场调试,您的声音设计师能够捕捉到一个游戏的声音事件流并可不限次数的重复播放。 所有的调整和声音设置能够在PC上完成,通过直观地编辑音频预设,事件,环境,过滤器和混合!在Windows中设计,发布到多个console平台!
  • Miles 9 现在也能够从工具中 热加载 各种有用的元素(assets)到您的游戏中。这允许您暂停游戏,编辑音效音色,以及用更新过得元素继续游戏! 你的游戏不会需要慢慢等待来迭代改进音频。
  • Miles 同时也包含了我们的Bink Audio解码器插件。Bink Audio 接近于MP3和Ogg的压缩率,但是它的CPU负载要少大概30%,并且所需要的内存要远小于它们! 我们期待更多的客户使用这个格式 - 它对游戏而言非常完美! 这和我们在Bink里已提供多年音频编解码器是相同的。 成千上万的游戏已经使用了它,现在它也包括在Miles里了!
  • Miles 包含完全的SPU支持!Bink Audio, MP3 和 ADPCM 解压, 和DSP一起配合, 混响, 以及全部的混合都在SPU中发生 - 没有PPU负载!
  • Miles 有最好的数字音频特性。 Miles 支持多声道输入输出, 动态混合和格式转换,解压(Bink Audio, Ogg, MP3, ADPCM 和语音聊天编解码), 强大的流处理,超过一打的DSP过滤器,3D空间定位,软件混响,录用支持,以及更多。
  • Miles 包含了Fraunhofer 和 Thomson 专利授权来使用MP3作为Miles Sound System的一部分。 您不需要再到其他地方,花费更多的成本来获得MP3的授权了。MP3的专利授权仍然在某种程度上有点含糊的, 但是一般都相信Fraunhofer/Thomson拥有MP3格式的法律控制权。
  • Miles包含了一个干净的Ogg Vorbis解码器,那是世界上最快的解码器 - 它最多可以比libVorbis快40%。
  • Miles SDK 既简单又强大。Miles已经花了15年的时间进行开发优化。大多数的游戏开发者直接使用Miles API就是因为它是如此的干净 - 他们甚至不用再麻烦去进行封装。
  • Miles 在游戏中使用远多于在其他声音系统使用 - 这允许我们不断的优化Miles的代码。 当我们发现一个为一些音频硬件的怪异之处并进行改进时,所有获得我们授权的人都能够从中受益。
  • Miles 运行超级快。它包含了被一些最好的优化师(Mike Abrash, Terje Matheson, Jeff Roberts and John Miles)优化后的代码。
  • Miles使用尽可能少的内存。Miles动态解码所有的压缩数据,因此您的声音所占用的内存会极大的降低。
  • Miles可在每个平台上运行。您能够在15个不同的平台上使用相同的API和数据文件。
  • Miles运行在每个游戏平台 同时它也针对每个平台进行优化以从每个平台特性上获益。它在PS3上使用SPUs(事实上没有PPU周期!),在Xbox360上使用VMX,在x86上使用SSE 2,在PS2上使用VUO优化,等等。 更好的是,您在所有这些不同的平台上使用的是相同的API和数据文件。
  • Miles是超级稳健的。既然我们已经随那么多游戏进行发布,Miles不断变得更好 - 它就是不崩溃。 Miles被设计成可容忍坏的输入数据 - 它只是拐个弯直到输入数据再次变正确。

学习Miles的最好方式是去用它!- 发邮件给我们,开始评估!

Miles Sound System

The Miles Sound System

The Miles Sound System is one of the most popular pieces of middleware ever released. It has been licensed for over 5,200 games on 14 different platforms!

John Miles first released MSS in 1991 in the early days of PC gaming. Today, Miles features a no-compromise toolset that integrates high-level sound authoring with 2D and 3D digital audio, featuring streaming, environmental reverb, multistage DSP filtering, and multichannel mixing, and highly-optimized audio decoders (MP3, Ogg and Bink Audio).

New! Miles 9!

Miles 9, with all new high-level audio tools, is now shipping!

Miles is the most sophisticated, most robust, and most fully featured sound system available for your games. Both your programmers and your sound designers will love Miles.

Game Developer Magazine inducted the Miles Sound System into its Front Line Hall of Fame the very first year - the first middleware package ever to receive that honor. Over the years, John Miles and Jeff Roberts have designed and refined the Miles API to be the best possible solution for your game's audio needs.

You should check out what our customers think, or you can read more about the Miles SDK itself. Finally, you can check out the Miles version history, if you are looking for something specific.

Next we'll briefly talk about some of the awesome Miles features, but remember, the fastest way to learn about Miles is just to email us and set up an evaluation!

Why Miles is right for your game:

  • Miles 9 now has a completely redesigned high level audio toolset! Designed around iteration and soundscape debugging, your sound designers can capture a game's sound event stream and replay it as many times as they want. All adjustment and sound setup can be done on the PC, with intuitive editing for audio presets, events, environments, filters, and mixing! Design on Windows and deploy for multiple console platforms!
  • Miles 9.2 now introduces busses! With busses you can group samples, apply limiters, and side-chain compress for ducking!
  • Miles 9 also now can hot load assets from the tool, to your game. This allows you to pause the game, edit the soundscape, and resume with the updated assets! No more waiting for your game's load times to iterate on audio.
  • Miles also contains our Bink Audio decoder plug-in. Bink Audio is close to MP3 and Ogg in compression size, but uses around 30% less CPU than either, and with far less memory! We expect most customers to use this format - it's perfect for games! This is the same audio codec that we've had available in Bink for many years. Thousands of games have used it, and now its included in Miles!
  • Miles includes full SPU support! Bink Audio, MP3 and ADPCM decompression, along with DSP, reverb, and all mixing takes place on the SPU - no PPU overhead!
  • Miles has the best digital audio features. Miles supports multi-channel input and output, on-the-fly mixing and format conversion, decompression (Bink Audio, Ogg, MP3, ADPCM and voice chat codecs), powerful streaming, more than a dozen DSP filters, 3D spatial positioning, software reverb, recording support and more.
  • Miles includes the Fraunhofer and Thomson patent rights to use MP3 as part of the Miles Sound System. You don't need to go elsewhere for more licensing costs to obtain them. MP3 patent rights remain somewhat murky, but it is generally believed that Fraunhofer/Thomson have legal control of the MP3 format.
  • Miles includes a clean-room Ogg Vorbis decoder that is the world's fastest decoder - it's up to 40% faster than libVorbis.
  • The Miles SDK is simple and powerful. Miles has been refined over 15 years of development. Most game developers directly use the Miles API because it is so clean - they don't even bother wrapping it!
  • Miles is used in more games than any other sound system - this has allowed us to interate on the Miles code base endlessly. When we discover a workaround for some weird piece of audio hardware, all of our licensees benefit!
  • Miles is super, super fast. It contains optimized code by some of the best optimizers in the business (Mike Abrash, Terje Mathison, Jeff Roberts and John Miles).
  • Miles uses as little memory as possible. Miles decodes all compressed data on-the-fly, so your sound footprint will drop in size drastically.
  • Miles runs on every platform. You can use the same API and data files on 15 different platforms.
  • Miles runs on every game platform and is customized to take advantage of each one. It uses SPUs on PS3 (virtually no PPU cycles!), VMX on Xbox360, SSE 2 on x86, VU0 optimizations on PS2, etc. Even better, you use the same API and data files on all the different platforms.
  • Miles is super robust. Since we ship in so many games, Miles just gets better and better - it just doesn't crash. Miles is also designed to tolerate bad input data - it just keeps cranking along until the input data gets better again.

The best way to learn about Miles is to try it - email us to get an evaluation SDK!